Do You Know the Penalties for DUI in Maryland?
April 25, 2023
Plenty of people go out for the night not thinking about the risk of driving while intoxicated. Unfortunately, even with the best intentions, some people do get pulled over for driving dangerously or recklessly. They may be charged with DUI and arrested.
If this happens to you, you should be aware of the possible DUI penalties in Maryland.
Maryland’s DUI penalties
Maryland changed its DUI penalties most recently in 2016. The new changes were made as a part of the Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016, which is also known as Noah’s Law.
In Maryland, if you refuse a chemical blood alcohol concentration test, or BAC test, you will be issued an Order of Suspension with your traffic citation. Your license will also be confiscated. However, you may be given a temporary license for up to 45 days.
DUI versus DWI
Maryland also has two penalty categories for drunk driving, Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI) and Driving While Impaired (DWI).
For a DUI, you can face a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense. You may also spend up to a year in jail. Your license could be revoked for up to six months, and 12 points will be placed on your license.
For DWI charges, you will face up to $500 in fines for the first offense along with a requirement to spend up to two months in prison. This charge comes with only eight points, less than a DUI, but if you were under 21 at the time of the stop, you could face up to a year’s suspension of your license. For everyone over 21, this is reduced to six months.
These are only a handful of the penalties you could face, as each situation will vary depending on the circumstances. For more guidance, check with an experienced criminal defense attorney in your area.